A Mother’s Love for Learning

Abraham Lincoln, also known as Honest Abe, is remembered for his honesty and integrity as he served as one of our nation’s greatest presidents. While I am barely starting to learn of the life and legacy President Lincoln left behind, I have been so amazed by his mother, Nancy Hanks Lincoln.

Abe’s mother received little formal education and grew up in poverty. However, there is one thing that Nancy knew how to do and that was read. Nancy tauht her husband to read, and to write his name. She also desired that her children would know how to read so she began to read the Bible to them as soon as they could understand. Abe started to love the stories of the Bible and demonstrated a great desire to be able to read on his own. Nancy started teaching Abe how to read and felt so much pride watching her son gain knowledge.

When Abe’s family moved to Indiana and the winter months did not allow for Abe to go outside, his mother taught him to write and Abe’s knowledge continued to grow eventually leading him to be taught at a local school where he was one of the youngest, yet most intelligent pupils.

When Abraham was only 9 years old his mother Nancy caught a milk illness and passed away. One of the last things Nancy said to Abe was, “Mother wants her little boy to be honest, truthful, and kind to everybody, and always to trust in God.”

It was because of Abe’s mother, Nancy, that Abraham Lincoln built a foundation for reading and learning. I also wonder if the foundation of the Bible and God led Abraham Lincoln to acquire great secular knowledge by receiving the guidance of God.

It is of no doubt that Abraham Lincoln was foreordained by God to come to this earth and use his talents to build up a great nation. Among his many accomplishments, the love that Abe had for his fellow men allowed him to issue the Emancipation Proclamation which declared that all slaves in the Confederate states be set free. Abraham Lincoln paved the way for the eventual abolition of slavery in the United States.

His legacy is so great and it all began because of the love of a mother. A mother who herself loved learning, despite having received no formal education Nancy desired to learn and acquired this knowledge on her own. Because of her diligence and dedication to learn, she raised one of the greatest President this nation has ever had.

Abe, when he became President of the United States, said of his mother Nancy, “All that I am or ever shall hope to be, I owe to my loving angel mother”



Leave a comment

About Me

Hi there! I’m Carolina, a wife to a pretty awesome guy and a mother to two little ladies Mabel & Eleanor. My story is one that is continuously changing & developing. I am an immigrant & come from generations of hard-working and inspiring individuals. My hope is to create a home and family where my children and future generations will love learning and be surrounded by beautiful art, wholesome music and enriching literature. Where my children will seek to learn from the best books and desire to gain their own testimony and relationship with the Savior & their Father in Heaven. My hope on this platform is to share the current art, books and literature I’m partaking of and hope to inspire those who come on here to create their own beautiful and enriching learning experiences and stories. I feel like I have barely started this learning journey & I am so grateful to have you join me.

Newsletter